Headlined by Paralympic medalists, Team USA names 32 athletes to 2022 national team

by Kristen Gowdy

Chris Murphy, Joe Berenyi and Shawn Morelli compete in track cycling at the Tokyo Paralympics. (Photo: Casey Gibson)


COLORADO SPRINGS – U.S. Paralympics Cycling today nominated 32 athletes to its 2022 national team. Each of the seven athletes who brought home medals at the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 return to the team. They set the standard for a squad that will look to carry the momentum of the Games into the new Paralympic quad as it turns toward Paris 2024.  


In addition to a packed world cup schedule, the 2022 season will also feature both track and road cycling world championships.


“We are excited about the mix of veteran leadership and new talent that we are bringing to the international stage this year,” Ian Lawless, director of U.S. Paralympics Cycling, said. “This team, along with athletes around the world, is coming off a difficult stretch that saw the pandemic derail much of the 2020 and 2021 seasons. We’re looking forward to what will hopefully be a full competition schedule this year with a team that we have the utmost confidence in.”


Shawn Morelli (Meadville, Pennsylvania) took home the first Team USA medal of the Tokyo Paralympics, a silver in the individual pursuit which she followed with a gold in the time trial, leads a veteran track cycling national team that also features 2020 Paralympians Chris Murphy (Rancho Cucamonga, California), Clara Brown (Falmouth, Maine) and Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois). Brown, a rising star in the sport, finished just off the podium in each of her three events in Tokyo after struggling with an injury throughout the Games. Jason Macom (Little Rock, Arkansas) and Justin Widhalm (Bridgeport, Nebraska) round out the 2022 track cycling national team.


Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky), who won double gold in Tokyo and is now attempting to qualify for the Winter Paralympics in Nordic skiing, headlines a road cycling team that also includes 2020 Paralympic medalists Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont), Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington), Jill Walsh (Syracuse, New York), Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, New York) and Ryan Pinney (Phoenix, Arizona). Other returning Tokyo road cyclists include Cody Jung (Poway, California), Monica Sereda (St. Petersburg, Florida), Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon), Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, California) and Tom Davis (Fremont, Indiana).


Two-time Paralympic medalist Samantha Bosco (Claremont, California), who was named to the Tokyo team but sustained a season-ending injury during training before the Games, returns to the national team and will seek a strong comeback season.


Also returning to the road cycling team are six-time Paralympic medalist Oz Sanchez (San Diego, California), who will look to add onto his 13 career world championship medals as he pursues his fourth Paralympic team nomination in 2024. Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Connecticut) won silver at the 2016 Paralympics and has brought home eight world championship medals in his career. Travis Gaertner (Burien, Washington), a two-time Paralympic champion in wheelchair basketball, also continues his successful para-cycling campaign that saw him just miss the 2020 Paralympic team. A mix of para-cycling veterans and up-and-comers round out the rest of the 26 road national team slots.


Further information on the team’s schedule will be published on


Full 2022 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team




Joe Berenyi

Clara Brown

Jason Macom

Shawn Morelli

Chris Murphy

Justin Widhalm




David Berling

Samantha Bosco

Ryan Boyle

Dennis Connors

Alicia Dana

Owen Daniels

Tom Davis

Freddie de los Santos

Travis Gaertner

Will Groulx

Cody Jung

Aaron Keith

Todd Key

Brandon Lyons

Oksana Masters

Noah Middlestaedt

Ryan Pinney

Kyle Pitman

Jenna Rollman

Monica Sereda

John Terrell

Oz Sanchez

Jenny Schuble

Jill Walsh

Jamie Whitmore

Barry Wilcox


For media inquiries and photo requests, please contact Kristen Gowdy at